Γεια σας or Goodbye Greece!

It is crazy to think that today is my last day in Greece! It has been an amazing experience here and I have created so many great memories. Part of me doesn’t want to leave, but the other part is super excited to start my journey in Rome. 

I have had a great last 2 weeks here! I finished up everything that I wanted to see in Greece. I went to the new Olympic Stadium from the 2004 Olympics in Athens. It surprised me how run down it was. We also went to the big shopping mall that was near by. This week, I also attended a cooking class where we made stuffed eggplants, fried cheese pies, greek salad, tzatziki and a yogurt/fruit desert. It was really fun and the food was amazing! My history class and I finally made it to the Acropolis. We have been here for how long and we just went to the Acropolis on our second to last week! Crazy! I really liked the Acropolis and learning everything about it! I even wrote my last final in history class about the Acropolis!

This last weekend was full of studying for my Greek Art History final. It was not my ideal image of my last weekend in Greece, but it needed to be done. It also contained creating my Olive Oil project and studying for Ancient History Final. It was not fun, but I can now officially say I am done with Greek Art History forever! We also had a brief break were we held our own Olympics right next to the old Olympic Stadium. It consisted of egg race, eggplant toss, trivia and 5 legged relay. The night ended with booze around the world/ a toga party. We all went to each other’s apartments were we had a different booze from some country. My apartment was a traditional night in Greece, where we had Ouzo. The toga party was very fun!

During my last week in Greece, I went to Syntagma Square, Monastiraki and Plaka for the last time to go shopping. I also made my way inside the old Olympic Stadium next to my school. Last night, we had a big, goodbye, last taverna dinner with some of our professors. I have truly had some great professors in Greece! We ended our night with a celebration at the Pirate Bar next to our apartments. Today, I got my last yummy Baklava and for dinner I will be getting my last gyro from Grill and Pita. I am sure going to miss Greece a lot! Γεια σας Greece!

Leave a comment